Sunday , June 20 2021

Coquihalla reopened after stopping, as the southern coast of the BC is coping with the snow

British Columbia's transport ministry reopens Coquihalla highway 5 between Hope and Merritt after the clashes triggered an afternoon closure as the snow continues to accumulate in the southern coast.

DriveB.C. published a consultation just 2 hours ago. on Tuesday and reopened the corridors to the north about an hour later. But it took me two more hours to clear the southern corridors.

Meanwhile, more than two dozen school districts and several large Southern Black Sea universities are closed on Tuesday for snowstorms for the region for the third consecutive day.

Almost all school districts in the Lower Continent, including Vancouver, Surrey and Abbotsford – three of the largest in the province – are closed. Only schools in Fraser-Cascade (school district 78) are open on Tuesday.

The University of British Columbia and Simon Fraser University also see closures.

The entire southwestern corner of the province is under a new snow warning, expected to 25 centimeters in some eastern regions. Environment Canada said the snow is expected to fall late on Tuesday afternoon.

The snow began on Sunday and started again on Monday afternoon, continuing overnight.

Cars make their way down the main street in Vancouver in the early hours of Tuesday. The region, as well as the entire southern coast, is under snow warning for a third consecutive day. (Gan-Paolo Mendoza / CBC)

In the vicinity of Canada, Environment Canada says the winter storm in the southeastern corner of the province may cover some areas with a total of 35 centimeters of snow before the system passes late on Tuesday.

In the northeast. Хр. An extremely cold warning has been issued for the Mir area where some 40 degree wind winds are predicted around Fort St. John.

SkyTrain, delays in the bus

On Monday, traveling to the Metro in Vancouver probably had many SkyTrain passengers who have broken their teeth, long delays and crowded platforms due to thawing nightmares combined with the lack of TransLink staff.

Spokesperson Chris Brian said trains are only 50% of normal service levels, but the authority is "pretty confident" that there will be a better situation of about 80% of the normal service Tuesday morning.

"We will have more trains in the system, we will have much more capacity in the system and we have recruited extra staff," Brian said.

Every train on the Expo and Millennium line is run by an employee, not automatically because of the weather. Brian said that on Monday he just had not enough staff to keep things safe.

Smaller buses are also moving at a slower pace on Tuesday due to slippery roads.

A bus takes its way around a snow corner on Cambie Street and Marine Drive in South Vancouver. Translink said the bus service would be postponed on Tuesday because of the weather and travelers should expect crowds. (Gan-Paolo Mendoza / CBC)

Late on Monday, SkyTrain, full of passengers, drove along the Canadian line in Richmond due to the ice on the electric rail.

"The train could not get the power, so the train failed," Brian said. – We really apologize.

The passengers were trapped for more than two hours before a second train could take them down.

The following school districts are closed on Tuesday:

  • Abbotsford (SD34)
  • Burnaby (SD41)
  • Campbell River (SD72)
  • Chilliwack (SD33)
  • Comox Valley (SD71)
  • Coquitlam (SD43)
  • Valley of Kauikan (SD79)
  • Delta (SD37)
  • Great Victoria (SD61)
  • Gulf Islands (SD64)
  • Langley (SD35)
  • Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows (SD42)
  • Mission (SD75)
  • Nadymo Ladysmith (SD68)
  • New Westminster (SD40)
  • North Vancouver (SD44)
  • Powell River (SD47)
  • Qualicum (SD69)
  • Richmond (SD38)
  • Saanich (SD63)
  • Sooke (SD62)
  • Sunshine Coast (SD46)
  • Surrey (SD36)
  • Vancouver (SD39)
  • West Vancouver (SD45)

Fountain near the BC. Legislative power in Victoria is frozen for several days. (Michael Maccart / CBC)

The following universities and colleges are also closed:

  • British Columbia Institute of Technology (all campuses)
  • Camosun College
  • Capilano University
  • Douglas College
  • Kvanten Polytechnic University (all campuses)
  • Lingara College
  • Simon Fraser University (all campuses)
  • Western University of Trinity (University of Richmond)
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of the Fraser Valley
  • University of Victoria
  • Vancouver City College
  • University of Vancouver Island (except the Powell River Campus)

Source link