Sunday , November 29 2020

Roughriders' Chris Jones captures the CFL's coach of the year honors

EDMONTON – Chris Jones of the Saskatchewan Roughriders was named CFL's coach of the year Thursday night.

Jones, also the Riders' general manager, was honored at the league's awards banquet.

Voting was conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada and nine CFL head coaches.

In his third season with the Riders, Jones led the franchise to a 12-6 record and second place finish in the West Division. That's the biggest victory for the franchise ever since 1970 and has also earned Saskatchewan its first home playoff game since 2013.

Jones was the architect of a Saskatchewan defense that scored the most touchdowns in franchise history (11) and led the league in opposing net offense (317.5 yards per game), forced the most two-and-outs (107), and tied for fewest sacks allowed.

Coach Jones led the Roughriders to 12 victories this season, matching the most since 1970. He becomes the fifth Rider to win the honors and first since Corey Chamblin in 2013.

Rick Campbell of the Ottawa Redblacks, the league's top coach in 2015, was the finalist. Campbell's team will face the Calgary Stampeders in the Gray Cup on Sunday.

© Copyright 2018 Prince George Citizen

Source link