Wednesday , January 27 2021

Panama is the seat of the Caribbean 2019 series

Panama was set for the Caribbean series in 2019, according to a Facebook Live meeting, Juan Francisco Puengo Herrera, Caribbean Baseball Confederation President (CBPC).

This year's Caribbean Fair will have as a novelty the inclusion of the host country, which will compete with representatives of Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic and Venezuela.

The new date announced for the celebration of the event is between 4 and 10 February.

The serious political crisis in Venezuela affected the sport when the Confederate retreated to Barquisimeto on Sunday at the scene of the event. "It is officially and irrevocably decided to pull out the headquarters of the Caribbean 2019 series in the city of Barquisimeto, Venezuela and the event will be held in an alternative place from 4 to 9 February," the agency said. Headquartered in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.

The decision was taken only by a vote against the Venezuelan Professional Baseball League (LVBP) and was communicated to it and the organizing committee, the note added.

The Caribbean series unites winter baseball champions from Mexico, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Cuba and Venezuela. Panama, as a host country, returns to the event from 1949 to 1960 during the so-called first round of the tournament, which ended after Cumbrian President Fidel Castro's banned professional sport on the island.

Panama hosted the 1952, 1956 and 1960 tournaments, and the Vieja Yankees Panamanian map was crowned in Puerto Rico in 1950.

Cuba, on the other hand, returned to classics in the Caribbean after 54 years of absence.

Source link