Wednesday , September 28 2022

African Qualifying Draw for 2022 Soccer W / Cup


The Chronicle

Johannesburg – The former World Cup qualifiers, Angola and Togo, received difficult first hurdles to clear themselves when Africa's preliminary draw for the 2022 tournament was made yesterday in Cairo.

Angola were paired with Gambia and Togo against the Comoros between 2 and 10 September in two of the 14 two-legged ties involving lower ranking countries.

After qualifying for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany at the expense of Nigeria's hot favorites, Angola has made little impact in qualifying for the World Showman.

The Gambian team, coached by Belgian Tom Sentfiet, impressed in the meetings of the year by winning the qualifying for the 2019 Africa Cup of Guinea and Morocco.

Togo, who also made their only appearance at the 2006 World Cup, thanks in large part to the goals of Emmanuel Adebayor, did not come close to repeating this feat.

Heavyweight African Football; Ghana, Cameroon and Morocco have failed to win in southern Africa Comoros in recent years.

The preliminary draw included six of the 2019 Nations Cup qualifiers in Africa and two, Burundi and Tanzania, were paired.

The winners collectively join the 26 World Cup Ranking-based countries in July in the six-round group stage next March.

The winners of the 10 sections will advance to the playoffs, which will decide the five qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia represented Africa at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia and none of them made it through the first round.

I draw

Ethiopia v. Lesotho, Somalia v. Zimbabwe, Eritrea v. Namibia, Burundi v. Tanzania, Djibouti in eSwatini (former Swaziland), Botswana v Malawi, Gambia v Angola, Liberia v Sierra Leone, Mauritius v Mozambique, São Tomeen Soumez Gomez , Comoros v Togo, Chad v Sudan, Seychelles v Rwanda.

First, Second Legs: September 2-10

goodbye: Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Algeria, Morocco, Egypt, Ghana, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso, South Africa, Guinea, Cape Verde, Uganda, Zambia, Benin, Gabon, Congo, Brazzaville, Madagascar, Niger, Libya, Mauritania, Kenya, Central African Republic. – Sports.

Source link