Sunday , July 25 2021

Bangladesh levels series with 218-run win in 2nd test

DHAKA, Bangladesh – Mehidy Hasan shop five wickets to propel Bangladesh toward a series-leveling, 218 run in the second cricket test against Zimbabwe.

The Bangladeshi offspinner returned 5-38 to help dismiss Zimbabwe for 224 with a defiant, unbeaten 106 from Brendan Taylor.

Hasan underlined his importance as an allrounder in the absence of Shakib Al Hasan with figures of 8-99 for the match, combined with two unbeaten innings of 64 and 27.

Taylor, who scored 110 in Zimbabwe's first innings, was resisted by the Bangladesh spinners but didn't get enough support for his lineup to bat through the last day to salvage a draw.

It was Taylor's second pair of tests following His 171 and 102 not out in 2013, also against Bangladesh, making him the third Zimbabwe batsman to achieve that after brothers Andy and Grant Flower.

Opener Brian Chari was the other notable contributor for Zimbabwe with 43.

Resuming the day on 76-2 and the first test series victory since 2011, Zimbabwe began to be cautious with Taylor leading from the front.

Pace bowler Mustafizur Rahman (1-19) got the opening breakthrough in the third over, dismissing Sean Williams (13).

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam (2-93) continued Tormenting Zimbabwe, with his guile and turn to the wicket of Sikandar Raza for 12. He finished the series with 18 wickets, including three five-wicket hauls.

Taylor and Peter Moor have a quicker delivery and delivery inside edge off Moor, who scored 13 from 79 deliveries.

But the big blow came when Regis Chakabva was run out for 2, exposing the lower order.

Hasan, less than a half-hour shop to finish off the innings and the match.

Bangladesh sets up the match with its first innings of 522-7 declared, which includes Mushfiqur Rahim's career best 219 not out and Mominul Haque's 161.

The host's 218-run first-innings lead after dismissing Zimbabwe for 304, then declared again at 224-6 – after skipper Mahmudul's first century in eight years – leaving Zimbabwe in the record chase to win the series.


More AP sports: and–Sports

Source link